Brief Bio

Last Updated March 7, 2021

Katie Rose Guest Pryal, J.D., Ph.D., is an IPPY-award-winning author, keynote speaker, and professor of law and creative writing.

She is the author of the bestselling Life of the Mind Interrupted: Essays on Mental Health and Disability in Higher Education (2017); the Foreword INDIE Gold winner The Freelance Academic: Transform Your Creative Life and Career (2019); and the IPPY Gold winner Even If You’re Broken: Essays on Sexual Assault and #MeToo (2019).

She’s also the author of the Hollywood Lights series, which includes Entanglement (2015), Chasing Chaos (2016), Fallout Girl (2018), and Take Your Charming Somewhere Else (2021).

As a professor, she is the author of many academic books on law and writing. She writes often about her subjects of expertise for national magazines, including Catapult, The Toast, Women in Higher Education, The Chronicle of Higher Education, Quartz, The Establishment, and many more. She speaks frequently about mental health and disability, writing and publishing, gender issues, and higher education. She lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Awards and Recognition


If you are with the media and would like to interview me, great! Email me at contact@krgp.us.


If you are interested in booking me to speak, contact BrightSight Speakers, and my amazing team there will help you.

Subscribe to monthly email letter Books on Bookshop.org Books on Amazon

My Expertise

  • Mental health and disability, including creating accessible and collegial workplaces
  • Gender issues, and sexual violence, assault, and harassment
  • Writing, including creative writing, writing craft, profession of writing, and publishing
  • Higher education, careers in and state of, including legal education
  • View my Portfolio to learn more

Download my CV – updated May 2020 

Connect with Katie:

01. About Me

Award-winning author, speaker, and law & creative writing professor. I write books that shine light on difficult subjects with grace and humor.

02. Book Me

03. Support Me

04. Letter from Me

06. Commentary